Relearning How to Sew

Having a baby these days is overwhelming! There are so many things out there that people say you MUST have for a baby. Reality is they really do not need much. However, I did want to have some kind of baby carrier for James as an infant. There are a multitude of types of baby carriers out there it is so hard to choose. They can be very expensive and on top of that you never know which one your baby will actually like so it is kind of a crap shoot.

I ended up being gifted a moby, a snugli, and a baby bjorn. However, James did not like the moby very much because he does not like to be confined and he wants to be able to see out. He has been too small for the bjorn and the snugli until recently so I needed another option. I had a friend who lent me a sling of hers which ended up being perfect!

20120526-054236.jpg

This is what it looks like.
20120526-054450.jpg
And this is it in action

However, my friend is having her second baby and is due any day so I had to give it back. I looked up the brand to see how much this little ditty costs and was SHOCKED to find it was ridiculously EXPENSIVE. “Petunia Pickle Bottom” the brand, can be found at Nordstroms and will cost you $71 for this baby! YIKES!

I could not justify buying this loop made of a cotton material for 71 bucks! So I decided to see if I could make one. My mother is quite good with the sewing machine and always tried to teach me as a child but I never has the patience to learn then. Thankfully she was able and willing to help me with this project! Our first trial ended up being a bit to small but practice makes perfect and I was able to create a sling that is almost identical to miss “Petunia Pickle Bottom’s.”

20120526-055529.jpg

Cute floral print.
20120526-055545.jpg
And it functions exactly the same.

And guess how much it was to make??

About $7!!!!! Beat that Petunia! I got the fabric SAS Fabrics a local store that has mounds of fabric laying out. It takes some searching but is totally worth the time. My fabric was $1.99 a yard and I only needed one yard of each fabric. Combine that with some thread and there you have it! Plus it was super easy to make. So easy in fact that I made another one for a friend.

20120526-060049.jpg

You can’t tell here but it is a super cute owl print I found.

I am SO happy I decided to try to make this! I really enjoyed the time relearning how to sew, loved the final product, and can’t wait to venture into something new soon!

Leave a Reply

