Lessons Learned in Nesting

nesting-cartoon-cropped_zpsc830305c

Well, I am officially nesting. I would not say I really ever felt like I had a nesting phase while pregnant with James but they aren’t joking when they say that pregnancies are different. Anyways, this weekend we spent our time doing a major house shuffle. It was a lot of work, but I am happy with our progress so far. Mostly I learned a lot about craigslist, yard sales and thrift store shopping do’s and don’ts. Here are the top lessons learned:

– Patience pays off. If you are persistent and look for long enough an item you want will pop up around your price range. I found a desk for $25 bucks and a some bunk beds in good shape for $25 bucks. Hooray for great deals.

-If something is close to what you want or exactly what you want at a thrift store do not think on it and say ‘I’ll come back later,’ because later it will be gone. No joke. There was a small dresser that I liked and was priced fairly but I decided if I really wanted it I would come back later. Low and  behold I did and it was long gone. Bummer!

-Some used items won’t be exactly what you thought. We bought some closet doors for $10 at the Habitat for Humanity Thrift store. However, the dimensions marked on them weren’t the real dimensions. Blast! They didn’t fit of course and now we have to take them back. Not the end of the world but for sure a lesson learned that we needed to measure them ourselves. *Side note the Habistore in Tucson is AWESOME and is a great resource if you hare looking to redo anything in your house.

-Searching craigslist saves time and effort. Although there are some good deals out there are thrift stores and yard sales the amount of time it takes to check them out is not always worth it. This is especially true when it comes to furniture pieces.

-It’s always good to keep perspective. It is so easy to obsess and think you just need that (fill in the blank) RIGHT NOW! In reality it is not really a need at all. This helps keep me grounded and focus on things that really do matter in the midst of trying to find the items I am wanting.

Overall, I am super happy about the progress we made this weekend and even more excited that I was able to do it all on the cheap! I am also so thankful to my wonderful hubby for all of his help and support with the projects! This is one happy pregnant mama!

Leave a Reply

